Can’t wait for DOOM

The new DOOM (or MF DOOM) cd is out. But I sent it to my mailbox at school, so I won’t get to listen to it til Monday. Its killin’ me. I can’t wait any longer. It got a review at HipHopDx, but I haven’t read it yet. Every song’s online already, but I haven’t listened to ’em yet. I want to go into it fresh and pure, no corruptions. So I can first just listen to it myself. Cuz I love DOOM’s stuff.

The way he rhymes is just out of this world. I wouldn’t say he’s the best or anything, but he is the best at what he does.  And whenever you listen to him, it sounds so fresh and different compared to everything else. Honestly, there is nothing like it. If you’ve never listened to him, you gotta give him a chance. 

I’ve heard him called the Dr. Seuss of Rap, and that’s a pretty good description. Even serious rap heads recognize his ability. He’s gotten on songs w/ people like Talib and Ghostface. I heard an interview once where Lupe Fiasco said DOOM was the Picasso of rap. That is high praise. It’s also a known fact that Nas likes him. What I didn’t know is that Mos Def is a huge DOOM fan too. But then I saw this video (on DX).

Seeing that video, just made it even harder for me to wait. I actually have heard two songs from the new cd, Born Like This. It was a month or two ago because I couldn’t wait.

That’s Ballskin off of Born Like This. And just for kicks, here’s one of my favorite DOOM tracks. It’s off of Madvillainy, his cd w/ Madlib. A classic album, if you’ve never listened to it. Anyways, I love a ton of the songs on there, but for some reason, I’ve always really liked the song Accordion.

Yeah, he’s not for everyone. But as least for me, DOOM is outta this world. Maybe Mos Def was right, you gotta be kinda weird to understand DOOM. I don’t know. All I know is I can’t wait to listen to Born Like This.

Born Like This

Born Like This

click the pic.

see ya later.

Leave a Reply

