Attack of the Surf Rap

The last week, I’ve just been hearing more and more about Surf Rap. The stuff’s kinda out there, but it’s real cool at the same time. The 60s Surf Rock is pretty sweet, and the fusion with Hip Hop’s pretty interesting. I’m kinda surprised I’m never heard stuff like this before, because it works pretty well. Definitely check these guys out.

The first groups is Spork Kills, which includes Louis Logic. I first heard about them on WYDU. Be sure to check out Trav’s extensive interview with Louis Logic about the group. The group’s already released its first EP, Beaches Love Us, on itunes. So make sure to support Surf RapThe last week, I’ve just been hearing more and more about Surf Rap. The stuff’s kinda out there, but it’s real cool at the same time. The 60s Surf Rock is pretty sweet, and the fusion with Hip Hop’s pretty interesting. I’m kinda surprised I’m never heard stuff like this before, because it works pretty well. Definitely check these guys out.

The first group is Spork Kills, which includes Louis Logic. I first heard about them on WYDU. Be sure to check out Trav’s extensive interview with Louis Logic about the group (Part 1, 2, 3). The group’s already released its first EP, Beaches Love Us, on itunes. So make sure to support Surf Rap.

Spork Kills- Night of the Hip N Dead

Then I heard a little about Tone Tank, another Surf Rapper. And this morning, I just caught his music video on FH. Apparently, he’s got a free album online too, so if you like his stuff, definitely check it out as well.

Tone Tank- King of Surf Guitar Rap

Is it just me or are these videos crazy? Surf Rap definitely has its own sound and look. One video has dancing zombies, the other has a fish guy. Crazy stuff.

This stuff kinda reminds me of that Shop Boyz song from a year or two. I don’t know how many people knew about it, but I listened to it in the summer for a long while til I got tired of it. Sounds like its got a Beach Boys sample or something, so its got that Surf Rap vibe as well.

 Shop Boyz- Rollin’

Surf Rap. Just another example of the versatility and evolution of Hip Hop. I’ll be sure to have some more conventional stuff on the next post. Just thought this deserved some mention.

One Response to “Attack of the Surf Rap”

  1. Hello,

    My name is Luke and I work at Audible Treats, a music marketing a promotions company in Brooklyn. Thanks for posting this video for Tone Tank’s “King Of Surf Guitar Rap”. We do promotions for Tone as well as many other artists and I’d love to get an email address where I can send more mp3’s, videos and press releases. Also, you can view a full list of our roster at http://www.audibletreats.com/download and if interested in any particular artists we can mail you press kits with CD’s. Please email me back and let me know.

    Thanks,
    Luke

Leave a Reply

