Wayman Tisdale: Gone But Not Forgotten

wayman-tisdale

I usually don’t post anything on Sundays. But this is just something I have to do. You might not have heard, but Wayman Tisdale passed away on Friday.

Wayman Tisdale was one of the coolest guys ever. An amazing bassist and also a professional basketball player. How often do you get a combination like that? I mean, he took home the gold in ’84 Olympics. And in the last decade, he’s been one of the most popular bassists in Smooth Jazz. The guy was incredible. I’ve seen interviews of his, and he’s always seemed like a real down-to-earth friendly guy. 
One summer, me and my friends just listened to Smooth Jazz like everyday. It was the same year that one of his cds came out, so his music became the soundtrack of my summer. I love his music, and it also brings back good memories. I can’t believe the guy’s gone. He had problems with bone cancer the last couple years, and he passed away on Friday. Condolences to his friends and family. A great man’s gone, but he’ll live on through his loved ones and through his music.

Wayman Tisdale was one of the coolest guys ever. An amazing bassist and also a professional basketball player. How often do you get a combination like that? I mean, he took home the gold in ’84 Olympics. And in the last decade, he’s been one of the most popular bassists in Smooth Jazz. The guy was incredible. I’ve seen interviews of his, and he’s always seemed like a real down-to-earth friendly guy. 

One summer, me and my friends just listened to Smooth Jazz like everyday. It was the same year that one of his cds came out, so his music became the soundtrack of my summer. I love his music, and it also brings back good memories. I can’t believe the guy’s gone.

I knew he had problems with bone cancer the last couple years, but I was shocked when he passed away on Friday. Condolences to his friends and family. A great man’s gone, but he’ll live on through his loved ones and through his music.

To learn more about him, check out this nice article from Sports Illustrated.

Leave a Reply

