Crazy morning

Holy crap. I had a final this morning at 10. Completely forgot about it. Set my alarm for 11, but for some reason I just woke up at like 10:05 (I’m the luckiest man alive). 
Checked my email 5 minutes later and got one from my professor. It basically said, “Hey, we’re having a final right now, and you’re not here. You should probably get over here.” I freaked out, and I ran all the way to the class. On the way, I almost got hit by a car. Haha.

Holy crap. I had a final this morning at 10. Completely forgot about it. Set my alarm for 11, but for some reason I just woke up at like 10:05 (I’m the luckiest man alive). 

Checked my email 5 minutes later and got one from my professor. It basically said, “Hey, we’re having a final right now, and you’re not here. You should probably get over here.” I freaked out, and I ran all the way to the class. On the way, I almost got hit by a car. Haha.

Kinda like that…Well not really. Got there 20 minutes late. She gave me 10 minutes extra, and I *almost* finished it. Damn it sucked, but it could have been much worse. Just gotta roll with the punches I guess.

Here’s a new song off of Pseudo Slang’s upcoming album, We’ll Keep Looking. Pseudo Slang is made up of Emcee Sick of the Xtracts of Slang and Tone Atlas of the Pseudo Intellectuals. I haven’t heard much from Pseudo Slang before, but this track’s pretty nice. Grap Luva’s pretty cool too. I’ve heard him somewhere before, but I can’t remember where. I think I heard him on the Upstarts’ last album, which was also dope. We’ll Keep Looking comes out June 16th via Fat Beats Records.

Walkin’– Pseudo Slang feat. Grap Luva

Although I haven’t heard much from Pseudo Slang, I have heard some tracks from the Pseudo Intellectuals. One track I love is Resourceful Illery, the title track from their album last year. The simple piano sample, the flow, and Tone Atlas’ kids’ voices. It just all comes together. A real cool track. If you haven’t heard ’em before, definitely check out the song and album.

Resourceful Illery– Pseudo Intellectuals

Caught this video on Freddia Joachim’s blog. It’s an interview of Son of Ran, a real cool emcee out west. He came out with an album about two years ago called Tribute To Sky City. The album was awesome. Amazingly, they were giving it out for free at some point, and that’s when I heard of it. You might still be able to find the free album online if you look (I’m not doing your work for you). Here’s one of my favorite songs on the album, so you can get an idea what I’m talking about.

Can I – Son of Ran (prod. by Freddie Joachim)

Definitely makes me angry seeing interviews like that where talented people say they can’t make a living doing what they love. You know, I didn’t even know he had an album, Incoming Message, come out last year. Never heard about it. I’m definitely gonna try to get my hands on it and support the guy. If you like his music, you should too.

breakfast club

And finally, here’s another song I like on Donny Goines’ album. It’s a fun song, and it’s got a different sound than a lot of the other stuff on the album. I know some people don’t like this song, but I don’t know, it kinda grew on me. The beat (prod. by Apple Juice Kid) and hook are pretty catchy if you ask me. It doesn’t have that soulful vibe or smarter, more conscious lyrics, but it’s fun. Like he says, “There’s nothing wrong with having a good time.”

Party Apple– Donny Goines

Leave a Reply

