Bulls NBA Draft Review + Music

The Big Night

Alright the draft was tonight. If you’re not a NBA fan, then you won’t know what I’m talking about, so you can just skip to the hip hop stuff. But anyways, I’ve been a Bulls fan my whole life, so here’s my thoughts on how their draft went…

James Johnson

With the 16th pick they got James Johnson…Eh, yeah he’s pretty good. I’m not against this pick. It was decent, but I’m just not in love with it. I really wanted to Bulls to try to trade up and get Gerald Henderson. It was rumored that they were trying to do that, and I don’t know what happened, but this wasn’t a bad pick. James Johnson’s pretty talented. He can be pretty versatile on offense, and that’s something we need in a power forward. He can also play SF which is important if we lose Ben Gordon and Salmons moves to SG. But still, I would’ve preferred Gerald Henderson.

Taj Gibson

Now with the 26th pick… we got Taj Gibson. Damn it. What the heck??? No offense to Taj Gibson, he’s talented, athletic, good on defense, but we don’t need him. We don’t need another athletic power forward who’s raw on the offensive side. Now he’s not as raw as Noah or Thomas when we drafted them, but he’s not someone we can trust on the block either. It’s an okay pick, until you consider the people we passed up. Then it becomes a stupid pick, not because he sucks, but because there were much better fits.

DeJuan Blair

First off, DeJuan Blair was still available. And he was available for a long time (am I the only one who thinks that’s crazy?). He was a star in college basketball. He’s got a bigger heart and a bigger motor than almost anyone out there. Yes, he’s undersized, and yes, he’s had knee problems in the past, but at the 26th pick he’s got real good value. The guy’s an amazing offensive rebounder. With him, Thomas, and Noah, we’d have one of the best young rebounding front courts in the league. And although he’s short, he can score on the block. Now I know he won’t be as effective in the NBA against taller defenders, but he’d still give us some low-post presence. For the last couple years, we’ve had no one who could play with their back-to-the-basket, and we still don’t. Stupid to pass him up.

Wayne Ellington

Wayne Ellington was also available. Ellington, the lights-out shooter, was still available, and we passed him up. I don’t care what the new GM says, I don’t think we’re keeping Ben Gordon. He’s gonna want too much money, and if somehow we were able to resign him, then we would probably trade away Hinrich (which I think would be a mistake, but that’s another argument). The point is, once BG leaves, we will need more guards. Salmons can move down to SG, but who will come off the bench? Ellington would have been a great bench player and BG replacement for us, and we passed him up.

Chase Budinger

Finally, Chase Budinger was still there too. I don’t think he would have been as good of a pick as Blair or Ellington, but I think he would have been a better fit than Gibson. He’s got some problems, like defense, but at the end of the day, this guy can play. He’s athletic, he’s generally a smart player, and he’s a great shooter. If we lose Ben Gordon, he would have been a great fit for our team. Salmons would move down to SG, and then Budinger would be a great back-up at both SG and SF. Giving us range and athleticism at the 2 and 3.

So there it is. The Bulls did okay, but not good. They got two good players, but I think they could’ve done better either by trading up or by selecting a better fit with their second pick. Overall, I give ’em a B-.

Buy This June 30th.

Okay, here’s the usual stuff. Caught this on 2DB. Another song off of Wu-Tang Chamber Music which is dropping June 30th. This album is going to be dope. I really want to go buy this now. This and the Reflection Eternal album are the two cds I’m most anticipating right now, and I’ll have this in my hands next week. Interestingly, it turns out this isn’t an official Wu-Tang album, which I thought it was. According to DX, RZA has stated this is not really a Wu album. Here’s what he said,

I think the [‘Chamber Music’] title is very fitting. This music is totally in the chamber, or in the mind-frame of Wu-Tang like in the [Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)] days. But it’s not a Wu-Tang album. The whole Clan’s not on this album. But it couldn’t be in any other category but Wu-Tang.

Even though it’s not official Wu-Tang, it’s still dope as hell. I’m sure to be getting this when it drops.

Evil Deeds– Ghostface, RZA, and Havoc

Heard this today on 2DB. I don’t know this Novel guy, but Shake’s right. This song is dope. Definitely check it out.

Suspended Animation– Novel feat. Ced Hughes

One Response to “Bulls NBA Draft Review + Music”

  1. Hello there I was wondering, do you mind sharing with me where you got theme from?

Leave a Reply

