I wish time would slow down…

Not much to report on my side. Did a little homework, but not nearly as much as I need to. I hope these last two weeks drag out because I got lots of work to do and I’m dreading the start of classes and more work. On the other hand, I can’t wait to go to China. We’ll see how it goes. Some great comics from the past week…

Rubes

Reminds me of a few kites I know.

Secret Asian Man (off of DCR)

Haha, that’s completely true. It sucks how Asians and Latinos can never get leading roles. I understand they aren’t a majority of the population, so I wouldn’t expect them to get a lot of the roles. But still, there’s gotta be more than just kung fu roles available.

F-Minus

I feel the same way dude. I feel the same way.

Mike Luckovich (off of DCR)

I can’t believe Disney bought Marvel for $4 billion. That’s crazy. As long as Mickey doesn’t screw up the comics and the characters I don’t mind too much. It kinda sucks that Marvel is now part of an even bigger media conglomerate, but if we can get some cool new movies outta this deal, I don’t mind.

I heard about this video today, and I had to check it out. If you just watch it as a parody of old-school rap, it’s pretty funny. Rashard in particular kills his part. I wish Durant would have stole the show because he’s one of my favorite players, but he couldn’t match Lewis’s swag. That doesn’t matter much though because Durant is (or will be) a better player than Rashard Lewis.

Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images. Credit where credit is due.

Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images. Credit where credit is due.

Damn, I can’t wait til the start of the NBA season. Right now I’m more excited about football, but once the football season winds down, the NBA will be my life. After the Bulls, the OKC Thunder are one of my favorite teams. It’s mostly because I’m a huge Kevin Durant fan (since his dominating days at Texas). But it’s also because that team is super young and super talented. They could really be something in a couple years, so it’s cool to just watch the beginnings of a new powerhouse. Durant improved incredibly from his first to second season. It seems unlikely he’ll be able to improve by as much as he did again, but as long as the team overall improves it won’t really matter. With his ability and stat line, he could make the All-Star team if OKC can stay above .500. We’ll see if they can in a few months.

Here’s a real smooth song I heard on Flawless Hustle.  It’s off of Ghostface Killah’s upcoming album Ghostdini: The Wizard of Poetry. Raekwon has set the bar really high for new Wu releases with OB4CL2, so I wonder how Ghostface will respond. This song uses a pretty obvious sample, but it works. It’s weird, because in my mind the original song is both cool and lame. Add Ghostface and some delicate rhymes, and you got a dope song. The sample in the verses can be a little distracting, but overall this is nice.

Cruisin’ – Ghostface Killah

Just wasting time and caught myself watching this again on Freddie Joachim’s blog. Song isn’t new in anyway, and neither is the video, but it’s dope, so I’m going to re-up it anyway. TabOne, Charlie Smarts, and Rapsody all totally flow with the vibe, and the beat and video perfectly fit together. Kooley High is too high.

2 Responses to “I wish time would slow down…”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the difficulty is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

