NEW J.COLE

Alright. You know how this works. I post every once in awhile when I feel like it, and I hear something that I really want to talk about. Would be cool if I did this more regularly, but we’ll see.

So some new J. Cole came out yesterday. “LOST ONES.” It’s a dope song, and probably will be on the album in the fall. Unfortunately, it was an unauthorized leak, so it was taken off most blogs. But you can still hear it on youtube, if you haven’t had the chance yet. Anyways, this is a great song. THIS is the J. Cole I love. The lyrics, the great storytelling, and the real heart that comes through the words. The beat is pretty simple. Nice, but lets the words speak for themselves. And the words are powerful. Listen to it and tell me I’m wrong.

THIS is the J. Cole I hope I hear on the album. Who Dat? and some of those other songs are nice, but this is the kind of J. Cole music that I love. “Lost Ones” kind of reminds me of my first favorite J. Cole song, “Lights Please.” It’s got the same masterful storytelling knack that got me excited about J in the first place. Also, both songs use a relationship as the setting, but both hint at deeper issues, and use that setting to talk about those issues without sounding corny or preachy. They’re really interesting songs, “Lost Ones” a bit more powerful just because of its subject matter. But I’m telling you, this is getting me even more excited about the album. His last mixtape was nice, but not as nice as I was expecting. I hope he’s been saving the joints like this for the full album.

And I like the way he spoke through both people on “Lost Ones.” It made the song even more balanced, thoughtful, and provoking. Lets him show both sides, the concerns and anxieties of both, without picking a side until he says his piece in the last verse. That whole back and forth between the man and the woman brought to mind another classic hip hop song, “He Say She Say.” Man, I really loved that song when it came out. Loved the whole album actually. But that song was nice. How each verse subtly changed depending on perspective, some may say it was lazy writing, but I thought it was good music. And the way they talk to each other during the hook? Damn, that song was/is classic hip hop IYAM.

Finally, just because I feel like talking about more good music, this song has a few similarities to Blu’s “Good Life.” The first verses are especially similar as both rappers take similar approaches to the topic. I love that Blu song, and Exile’s production, but as of today, I like J. Cole’s new cut better. That’s just a deep, touching song. The lyrics are on point throughout and the song only gets better as it goes on. “Good Life” is still great, and that first verse has some really nice lines, but as a total product, J. Cole’s song is just more powerful.

Well anyways, that’s what I think. Which of these songs do you like the best?

Leave a Reply

